# HENNEPIN COUNTY

# MINNESOTA

# COMMITTEE MINUTES

PUBLIC WORKS COMMITTEE TUESDAY, JANUARY 30, 2024 1:30 PM Chair: Kevin Anderson, District 7
ViceChair: Marion Greene, District 3
Members: Jeff Lunde, District 1
Irene Fernando, District 2
Angela Conley, District 4
Debbie Goettel, District 5
Vacant, District 6

Commissioner Kevin Anderson, Chair, called the meeting of the Public Works Committee for Tuesday, January 30, 2024 to order at 3:07 p.m.

**Present:** Kevin Anderson, Marion Greene, Irene Fernando, Angela Conley, Debbie Goettel and Jeff Lunde

# 1. Minutes from Previous Meeting

1.A. January 9, 2024 Meeting Minutes

### **APPROVE**

Commissioner Angela Conley moved, seconded by Commissioner Irene Fernando, to approve the Minutes.

Ave: Commissioner Anderson, Commissioner Greene, Commissioner

Fernando, Commissioner Conley, Commissioner Goettel and

Commissioner Lunde

#### 2. New Business

# **Routine Items**

# 2.A. **24-0048**

Contract No. CM00001155 with Millerbernd Manufacturing Co. to purchase traffic signal poles for Wayzata Boulevard and Minnetonka Boulevard (CPs 2091103 and 2168100), 03/01/24-06/30/25; est county cost \$495,000 (\$138,000 state turnback, \$312,355 state aid, and \$44,645 recv)

#### CONSENT

Commissioner Irene Fernando moved, seconded by Commissioner Debbie Goettel, to approve the Resolution.

Aye: Commissioner Anderson, Commissioner Greene, Commissioner

Fernando, Commissioner Conley, Commissioner Goettel and

Commissioner Lunde

2.B. **24-0049** 

Agmt PR00005867 with HDR Engineering, Inc. for design engineering and professional services for Park Avenue (CSAH 33) and Portland Avenue (CSAH 35) multimodal improvements (CP 2220300 and 2220700), 02/26/24-12/31/27, county cost NTE \$1.9 million state aid

#### CONSENT

Commissioner Irene Fernando moved, seconded by Commissioner Debbie Goettel, to approve the Resolution.

Aye: Commissioner Anderson, Commissioner Greene, Commissioner

Fernando, Commissioner Conley, Commissioner Goettel and

Commissioner Lunde

# 2.C. **24-0050**

Designate new roadway, Fletcher Bypass between Territorial Road and CR 81, as CSAH 116; designate and number part of CR 116 as CSAH 159; renumber part of CSAH 116 as CSAH 159 (no county cost)

### **CONSENT**

Commissioner Irene Fernando moved, seconded by Commissioner Debbie Goettel, to approve the Resolution.

Aye: Commissioner Anderson, Commissioner Greene, Commissioner

Fernando, Commissioner Conley, Commissioner Goettel and

**Commissioner Lunde** 

### 2.D. **24-0051**

Neg Agmt PR00005964 with Ever-Green Energy to manage, operate and maintain the Hennepin County Energy Center, 03/01/24-12/31/34, estimated NTE \$40,000,000

#### CONSENT

Commissioner Irene Fernando moved, seconded by Commissioner Debbie Goettel, to approve the Resolution.

Aye: Commissioner Anderson, Commissioner Greene, Commissioner

Fernando, Commissioner Conley, Commissioner Goettel and

Commissioner Lunde

# **Items for Discussion and Action**

#### 2.E. **24-0052**

Neg 12 fall 2023 ERF grant agmts for cleanup and assessment of contaminated sites, various periods, total combined NTE \$1,842,279

#### CONSENT

Commissioner Marion Greene moved, seconded by Commissioner Jeff Lunde, to approve the Resolution.

Aye: Commissioner Anderson, Commissioner Greene, Commissioner

Fernando, Commissioner Conley, Commissioner Goettel and

Commissioner Lunde

# 2.F. **24-0053**

Authorization to apply for federal discretionary grants through the 2024 RAISE program for projects on West Broadway Avenue, CSAH 81 (CP 1005877) and Washington Avenue, CSAH 152 (CP 2221000)

#### CONSENT

Commissioner Irene Fernando moved, seconded by Commissioner Kevin Anderson, to approve the Resolution.

Aye: Commi

Commissioner Anderson, Commissioner Greene, Commissioner Fernando, Commissioner Conley, Commissioner Goettel and Commissioner Lunde

#### **Addendum**

# 2.G. **24-0061**

Approval of agreements for operations and maintenance of HERC (A165757), ash disposal services (PR00005989), metal recovery and recycling services (A2412182), and steam service from HERC (A2412184)

#### CONSENT

Commissioner Irene Fernando moved, seconded by Commissioner Angela Conley, to approve the Resolution.

Aye:

Commissioner Anderson, Commissioner Greene, Commissioner Fernando, Commissioner Conley, Commissioner Goettel and Commissioner Lunde

There being no further business, the Public Works Committee for Tuesday, January 30, 2024 was declared adjourned at 3:21 p.m.

Maria Rose Clerk to the County Board