HENNEPIN COUNTY MINNESOTA

RESOLUTION

Board of Hennepin County Commissioners IMMEDIATE APPROVALS: 24-0118

At a meeting of the Board of Hennepin County Commissioners on 3/5/2024, a motion was made by Irene Fernando, seconded by Marion Greene, that this Immediate Approvals be adopt. The motion passed.

WHEREAS, International Women's Day celebrates the social, economic, cultural and political achievements of women; and

WHEREAS, gender inequality persists throughout the world for women of all races and cultures, LGBTQI+ women, women with disabilities, transwomen, two spirit and gender diverse people, who have experienced many forms of oppression; and

WHEREAS, according to the United Nations, a large gender gap remains in women's access to decision-making and leadership; and

WHEREAS, Pew Research states that women make up approximately 47% of the US workforce; and

WHEREAS, Minnesota has 22 female senators and 55 female house members; and

WHEREAS, the Hennepin County Board of Commissioners has a majority of women serving on the board; and

WHEREAS, Hennepin County is an equal opportunity employer supporting employees of all genders, where over 63 percent of the workforce, including 57 percent of leadership, identify as female; and

WHEREAS, Hennepin County has a Lean In Employee Resource Group with executive sponsorship, leadership and membership that amplifies the voices of women at all levels of the organization, and prioritizes the voices of women of color, in the work of strengthening equity and allyship in our organization; and

WHEREAS, we encourage everyone to take actions against gender bias and inequity and seek out inclusion in support of the 2024 theme of "Inspire Inclusion".

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Hennepin County Board of Commissioners hereby recognizes March 8, 2024 as International Women's Day and acknowledges all women working in the Hennepin County organization and in the community.

RESOLUTION ADOPTED ON 3/5/2024

The question was on the adoption of the resolution with the votes as follows:

Aye: 6 Commissioner Fernando, Commissioner Greene, Commissioner Lunde, Commissioner Conley, Commissioner Goettel, and Commissioner Anderson

MROS Maria Rose

Maria Rose