HENNEPIN COUNTY MINNESOTA

COMMITTEE MINUTES

ADMINISTRATION, OPERATIONS AND BUDGET COMMITTEE

TUESDAY, AUGUST 13, 2024 1:30 PM Chair: Debbie Goettel, District 5 ViceChair: Heather Edelson, District 6 Members: Jeff Lunde, District 1 Irene Fernando, District 2 Marion Greene, District 3 Angela Conley, District 4 Kevin Anderson, District 7

Commissioner Debbie Goettel, Chair, called the meeting of the Administration, Operations and Budget Committee for Tuesday, August 13, 2024 to order at 1:30 p.m.

Present: Commissioner Debbie Goettel, Jeff Lunde, Irene Fernando, Marion Greene, Angela Conley, Kevin Anderson and Heather Edelson

1. Presentation

1.A. Assessment Trends and Preliminary 2025 Budget Property Tax Impacts - David Hough, Joe Mathews and Josh Hoogland

2. Minutes from Previous Meeting

2.A. July 30, 2024 Minutes

APPROVE

Commissioner Kevin Anderson moved, seconded by Commissioner Marion Greene, to approve the Minutes.

Aye: Commissioner Goettel, Commissioner Lunde, Commissioner Fernando, Commissioner Greene, Commissioner Conley, Commissioner Anderson and Commissioner Edelson

3. Open Appointment Interviews

3.A. **24-0332**

2024 Watershed Board Applicants and Appointments - Nine Mile Creek Watershed District Board

PROGRESS

Commissioner Debbie Goettel called out an administrative edit to correct the title of the item to Nine Mile Creek Watershed District Board. Two interview statements were played for those that applied to the watershed Board: Applicants Bob Cutshall, and Brian Kirk. Commissioner Kevin Anderson moved, seconded by Commissioner Angela Conley, to progress the Resolution to the August 20, 2024 Board meeting. Aye: Commissioner Goettel, Commissioner Lunde, Commissioner Fernando, Commissioner Greene, Commissioner Conley, Commissioner Anderson and Commissioner Edelson

4. New Business

Routine Items

4.A. <u>24-0333</u>

Establish a public hearing for comment on the program year 2023 Consolidated Annual Performance and Evaluation Report related to the HUD CDBG, HOME & ESG programs in suburban Hennepin County on Tuesday, September 24, 2024, at 1:30 p.m.

CONSENT

Commissioner Irene Fernando moved, seconded by Commissioner Heather Edelson, to approve the Resolution.

Aye: Commissioner Goettel, Commissioner Lunde, Commissioner Fernando, Commissioner Greene, Commissioner Conley, Commissioner Anderson and Commissioner Edelson

4.B. <u>24-0334</u>

Agmt A2412514 with L&H Partners Owner LLC, and Agmt A2412515 with L&H Partners Owner 2 LLC, for the lease of parking within the South Minneapolis Human Services Center parking ramp at 2215 East Lake St, Mpls, (recv \$72,000 first year rent)

CONSENT

Commissioner Angela Conley moved, seconded by Commissioner Irene Fernando, to approve the Resolution.

Aye: Commissioner Goettel, Commissioner Lunde, Commissioner Fernando, Commissioner Greene, Commissioner Conley, Commissioner Anderson and Commissioner Edelson

Addendum

4.C. **24-0345**

Commissioner compensation - offered by Commissioners Conley and Anderson

PROGRESS

Commissioner Kevin Anderson moved, seconded by Commissioner Heather Edelson, to progress the Resolution to the August 20th Board meeting.

Aye: Commissioner Goettel, Commissioner Lunde, Commissioner Fernando, Commissioner Greene, Commissioner Conley, Commissioner Anderson and Commissioner Edelson

4.D. <u>24-0346</u>

Countywide elected compensation - offered by Commissioner Goettel

NON-CONSENT

Commissioner Debbie Goettel moved, seconded by Commissioner Irene Fernando, to approve the Resolution. The motion failed.

- Aye: Commissioner Goettel and Commissioner Fernando
- **Nay:** Commissioner Lunde, Commissioner Greene, Commissioner Conley, Commissioner Anderson and Commissioner Edelson
- 4.E. <u>24-0347</u>

Countywide elected compensation - offered by Commissioner Edelson

CONSENT

After discussion, Commissioner Irene Fernando moved a friendly amendment to change the dates to Jan 1, seconded by Commissioner Kevin Anderson and approved unanimously. Commissioner Heather Edelson moved, seconded by Commissioner Kevin Anderson, to approve the Resolution as amended.

Aye: Commissioner Goettel, Commissioner Lunde, Commissioner Fernando, Commissioner Greene, Commissioner Conley, Commissioner Anderson and Commissioner Edelson